The following articles on amputee soccer and amputee athletes have been gathered from both U.S. and international sources.
Return to News Index

Uzbekistan Repeats! Beats Argentina 3-1 for 2nd Amputee Soccer World Cup

Uzbekistan celebrates its victory over Argentina and its second straight World Cup Championship

by Fancisco Rodriguez in Crespo

Uzbekistan confirmed its supremacy in the sport football by defeating Argentina 3-1 in the final match of the 2010 World Cup. More than 10,000 packed the arena for a second straight night to watch a superior Uzbekistani team repeat as World Champions. Uzbekistan also won the World Cup in 2007.

Speed and accuracy were the keys to this young Uzbek team led by its fast front line of Haydarali, Kudrat and complimented by perennial star Aziz leading a tough defense Argentina. Argentina performed well, but the depth and shooting attacks by Uzbekistan made the outcome a foregone conclusion.

The champions began with a steady pace, he gradually took charge of the match with a game based on skillful ball handling, sharp passing skills, and keeping the ball moving from sideline to sideline.

The Argentina defensive was forced to work increasingly harder, with three defenders close to the goalkeeper Miguel Lemos.

Turahujaef Kudrat, the Uzbekistani keeper, tossed aside all shots against him.

In the second half started with a quick goal from Haydarali, then Azziz scored again for the Uzbeks remaining focused on the ball and driving his shot home after a series of blocked shots and rebounds.

Argentina got on the board went ahead thanks to a drive from midfield Travagliante Montans which was picked up and slipped in to the net by Argentine Captain go Hereñú. A wildly cheering crowd urging its team to gain another goal to make the match even.

But Argentina's hopes were dashed by a great move by Haydarali on the left wing, resulting g in his second goal of he night, and a 3-1 lead for Uzbekistan.

The final whistle of the Turk Huseyin Elberstarted a wild celebration by UJzbekistan, which ended the tournament undefeated with 4 wins and 2 draws.


ARGENTINA 1: Miguel Lemos, Jonathan Montans, Juan Jose Sosa, Hernan Travagliante, Diego Pessoa, Mario Dominguez and Hugo Hereñú. DT: Marcelo Hereñú. Then entered: Augusto Alonso.

Uzbekistan 3: 12 Turahujaev Kudrat, 4 Abdukhamidov Abdumalik, 5 Khugoykulov Kudrat, 7 Radjapov Bakhtior, 8 Suleymanov Pavel, 10 Tursunboyev Haydarali, 11 Ismatov Agzamxon DT: Anvar Ismailov. Then Enter:

Referees: Huseyin Elber (Turkey) and Reinaldo Barros (Brazil).

Goals: ST: 1'Haydarali (UZB), 3'Aziz (UZB), 5'Hereñú (ARG) and 24'Haydarali (UZB).
10,000 spectators.

Unless otherwise noted, all text, images and video on this site are Copyright
R. G. Hofmann and All rights reserved.
For permission to reproduce these images Contact us.